Blog Archives

Rowing Wins First Ever Conference Title,Will Compete In its First Ever National Championships




WEST WINDSOR, N.J. – The 17th-ranked Louisville rowing team had a landmark performance at Sunday’s inaugural American Athletic Conference Championship sweeping all six grand finals and all six time trials to clinch the first conference title in program history while also earning the first NCAA Championship berth.


The Cardinals scored 158 points to earn the league’s automatic bid to the 2014 NCAA Rowing Championship on May 30-June 1 at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind. UCF was second in the seven-team championship with 136 points, while Connecticut finished third with 111 points.


Individually, Louisville’s Morgan Dunham, Darya Marchanka, Jami Montesano and Hannah Ritter were named All-American Athletic Conference First team, while Elise Valantine, Lucy Wilshier and Andrea Zorn were selected as All-American Athletic Conference Second Team. Louisville head coach Derek Copeland and assistants Sarah McIlduff, Lina Azarova and Kelly Harris were chosen as the Coaching Staff of the Year.

  Read the rest of this entry