Louisville C Enoch On Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award Watch List

Earlier this week, Jordan Nwora was placed on the watch list for the Julius Erving Award for the best SF in Division 1 basketball. Steven Enoch becomes the second Louisville player on a preseason award watch list.

Enoch was named to the watch list for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award for the nation’s best C. As with the Erving Award, it is presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. The inaugural award was given to former Wisconsin C Frank Kaminsky. Last year’s award was given to another Wisconsin C in Ethan Happ.

Enoch averaged 9 points and 5 rebounds per game last year for the Cards per sports-reference.com. He’s expected to improve on those numbers this year as a redshirt senior and be one of the best big men in the country.

Read more about Enoch and the watch list for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award in UofL’s press release below.


Louisville’s Enoch Among Watch List Candidates for Abdul-Jabbar Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — University of Louisville center Steven Enoch is among 20 watch list members for the 2020 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar of the Year Award as announced today by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Named after Class of 1995 Hall of Famer and three-time NCAA Champion Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, the annual honor in its sixth year recognizes the top centers in men’s college basketball.  A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Enoch, who earned a bachelor’s degree in communication from UofL this spring, was a double-figure scorer in 17 games for the Cardinals in 2018-19.  In his last 20 games coming off the bench, Enoch averaged 10.0 points, 5.6 rebounds and made 52 percent of his shots from the field, including 11-of-32 three-pointers (.344), in an average of 19 minutes a game.

A powerful player with a soft shooting touch, Enoch was third on the team in free throw percentage (58-of-72, .806). The 6-10 Enoch from Norwalk, Conn., scored a career-high 22 points against Boston College and he produced his first double-double with 17 points and 11 rebounds at North Carolina.  Honored on the 2019 All-ACC Academic men’s basketball team, Enoch played his first two collegiate seasons at the University of Connecticut before transferring to UofL, sitting out the 2017-18 season and playing his junior year in 2018-19.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar played for legendary coach and Hall of Famer John Wooden at the University of California, Los Angeles from 1966-1969. He is a three-time NCAA Champion who earned numerous accolades including three-time Final Four Most Outstanding Player, three-time National College Player of the Year and three-time Consensus First-Team All-American (1967-1969). As a professional, Abdul-Jabbar is a six-time NBA Champion, six-time NBA Most Valuable Player, two-time NBA Finals MVP, 19-time NBA All-Star and the league’s all-time leading scorer.

New to the award this season is Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2020 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award will be narrowed down to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Abdul-Jabbar and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2020 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five.

Additional awards being presented and receiving support from Eaton Ephesus Lighting include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award and the Karl Malone Power Forward Award, in addition to the Women’s Starting Five. Broadcast information will be released by ESPN at a later date.

Previous winners of the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award include Ethan Happ, Wisconsin (2019), Angel Delgado, Seton Hall (2018), Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga (2017), Jakob Poeltl, Utah (2016) and Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin (2015).

For more information on the 2020 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and the latest updates, log onto www.hoophallawards.com and follow @hoophall and #KareemAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies is live at this link:  http://www.hoophallawards.com/men/vote.php

2020 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award Candidates*

Chase Jeter Arizona
Nico Carvacho Colorado State
Vernon Carey Duke
Kerry Blackshear Florida
Omer Yurtseven Georgetown
Luke Garza Iowa
Udoka Azubuike Kansas
Steven Enoch Louisville
James Wiseman Memphis
Jon Teske Michigan
Jeremiah Tillmon Missouri
Armando Bacot North Carolina
Nate Watson Providence
Matt Haarms Purdue
Nick Rakocevic USC
Neemias Queta Utah St
Isaiah Stewart Washington
Derek Culver West Virginia
Charles Bassey Western Kentucky
Nathan Knight William and Mary

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2019-20 season*

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo “Court of Dreams.” Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum and events, visit www.hoophall.com, follow @hoophall and #KareemAward or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.

Basketball Hall of Fame Media Contact

Nicole Taylor, Position Sports // mediarelations@positionsports.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.