Louisville Baseball Has ACC Coach and Freshman of the Year

Photo: GoCards.com
Photo: GoCards.com

So the Louisville Cardinals have certainly welcomed themselves into the ACC neighborhood in nearly every sport this season. Baseball has been no exception at all. After setting the record for most conference wins in an ACC season with 25, the Cards were rewarded on Monday afternoon when the regular season awards were announced.

Check out the awards. Just a little bit of Louisville flavor.

ACC Player of the Year
Will Craig, So., Wake Forest

ACC Pitcher of the Year
Matthew Crownover, Jr., Clemson

ACC Freshman of the Year
Brendan McKay, Fr., Louisville

ACC Coach of the Year
Dan McDonnell, Louisville

2015 All-ACC Baseball Teams
First Team

C – Chris Okey, So., Clemson
1B – Brendon Hayden, Sr., Virginia Tech
1B – Will Craig, So., Wake Forest
2B – George Iskenderian, Jr., Miami (FL)
2B – Nate Mondou, So., Wake Forest
3B – David Thompson, Jr., Miami (FL)
SS – Sutton Whiting, Sr., Louisville
OF – DJ Stewart, Jr., Florida State
OF – Corey Ray, So., Louisville
OF – Stuart Fairchild, Fr., Wake Forest
DH/UT – Zack Collins, So., Miami (FL)
SP – Matthew Crownover, Jr., Clemson
SP – Brendan McKay, Fr., Louisville
SP – Kyle Funkhouser, Jr., Louisville
SP – Nathan Kirby, Jr., Virginia
RP – Zack Burdi, So., Louisville

Second Team
C – Andrew Knizner, So., NC State
1B – Preston Palmeiro, So., NC State
2B – Andy Perez, Sr., Duke
3B – Matt Gonzalez, Jr., Georgia Tech
3B – Kenny Towns, Sr., Virginia
SS – Daniel Pinero, So., Virginia
OF – Chris Shaw, Jr., Boston College
OF – Reed Rohlman, Fr., Clemson
OF – Jake Fincher, Sr., NC State
DH/UT – Tyler Krieger, Jr., Clemson
DH/UT – Brendan McKay, Fr., Louisville
SP – Josh Rogers, So., Louisville
SP – Thomas Woodrey, Jr., Miami (FL)
SP – Zac Gallen, So., North Carolina
RP – Billy Strode, Sr., Florida State
RP – Josh Sborz, Jr., Virginia

Third Team
C – Garrett Kennedy, Sr., Miami (FL)
1B – Quincy Nieporte, So., Florida State
2B – Logan Ratledge, Sr., NC State
3B – Kyle Fiala, So., Notre Dame
SS – Eli White, So., Clemson
OF – Steven Duggar, Jr., Clemson
OF – Willie Abreu, So., Miami (FL)
OF – Skye Bolt, Jr., North Carolina
OF – Robert Youngdahl, Sr., Notre Dame
OF – Saige Jenco, So., Virginia Tech
DH/UT – A.J. Murray, Sr., Georgia Tech
SP – Brandon Gold, So., Georgia Tech
SP – Andrew Suarez, Sr., Miami (FL)
SP – Benton Moss, Sr., North Carolina
SP – Ryan Smoyer, So., Notre Dame
RP – Bryan Garcia, So., Miami (FL)

2015 ACC Baseball All-Freshman Team
Dylan Busby, 3B, Florida State
Kel Johnson, OF, Georgia Tech
Brendan McKay, SP/UT, Louisville
Lincoln Henzman, RP, Louisville
Brian Brown, SP, NC State
J.B. Bukauskas, P, North Carolina
Brandon Bielak, SP, Notre Dame
Sean Guenther, RP, Notre Dame
Adam Haseley, OF, Virginia
Pavin Smith, 1B, Virginia
Justin Yurchak, 3B, Wake Forest
Stuart Fairchild, OF, Wake Forest

Read the full release on GoCards.com here.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.