All ACC Accolades For The Cards


(Press release)

Kenny Klein


Mar. 06, 2016 Men’s Basketball


GREENSBORO, N.C. — Two University of Louisville men’s basketball players have received all-conference honors for the 2015-16 season.


Graduate guard Damion Lee was named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference second team as selected by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA). Sophomore forward/center Chinanu Onuaku was honored on the ACC All-Defensive team and was an honorable mention All-ACC choice.

Lee led the Cardinals in scoring and is 10th in the ACC, averaging 16.2 points and 1.5 steals (fifth in the ACC) while shooting 84.3 percent from the free throw line (fifth in the ACC).  Lee scoring in double figures in 26 of 30 games this season and was the Cardinals’ top scorer in 16 games.  From Baltimore, Md., Lee scored his 2,000th career point last Wednesday, a figure which includes his season at Drexel.


Onuaku was eighth in the ACC in rebounding (8.6 rpg), third in blocked shots (2.0 bpg) and sixth in offensive rebounds (3.0) while averaging 10.0 points and shooting 62.9 percent from the field this season.  The Lanham, Md. product had 11 double-doubles on the season and 13 for his career, including six consecutive in his first six ACC games this season.  His 10 double-doubles in ACC games was second in the ACC.  He was the first Cardinal with six straight double-doubles in 22 years, since Clifford Rozier had nine straight during the 1993-94 season.  He led the team with 38 dunks this season.


The complete list of honors is listed below.


2016 ACC Basketball Post-Season Honors


All-Atlantic Coast Conference


First Team

Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia

Cat Barber, Jr., NC State

Grayson Allen, So., Duke

Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson


Second Team

Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse

Sheldon McClellan, Sr., Miami

Demetrius Jackson, Jr., Notre Dame

Brandon Ingram, Fr., Duke

Damion Lee, Sr., Louisville


Third Team

Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech

Anthony Gill, Sr., Virginia

Zach Auguste, Sr., Notre Dame

Michael Young, Jr., Pittsburgh

Angel Rodriguez, Sr., Miami


Honorable Mention

Justin Jackson, North Carolina

Tonye Jekiri, Miami

Zach LeDay, Virginia Tech

Chinanu Onuaku, Louisville

Marcus Paige, North Carolina

London Perrantes, Virginia

Devin Thomas, Wake Forest


ACC All-Defensive Team

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia

Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami

Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse

Landry Nnoko, Sr., Clemson

Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville


ACC All-Freshman Team

Brandon Ingram, Duke

Dwayne Bacon, Florida State

Malik Beasley, Florida State

Malachi Richardson, Syracuse

Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest


ACC Player of the Year

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia


ACC Freshman of the Year

Brandon Ingram, Duke


ACC Coach of the Year

Jim Larrañaga, Miami


ACC Defensive Player of the Year

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia


ACC Most Improved Player of the Year

Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson


ACC Sixth Man of the Year

Isaiah Hicks, Jr., North Carolina


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.