All ACC Teams & POY Revealed!

Dec 16, 2015; Louisville, KY, USA; Louisville Cardinals guard Donovan Mitchell (45) dunks against Kennesaw State Owls guard Yonel Brown (4) during the second half at KFC Yum! Center. Louisville defeated Kennesaw State 94-57. Mandatory Credit: Jamie Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

Kenny Klein

UofL Basketball SID

Mar. 05, 2017 Men’s Basketball

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – University of Louisville sophomore guard Donovan Mitchell has been named to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference five-man first team in a vote by league coaches and media.


The Greenwich, Conn. product was also selected to the ACC All-Defensive team after leading the conference in steals (66, 2.13 per game, 18th in the nation). He is within eight steals of the UofL top ten for a season.

Joining Mitchell on the All-ACC first team are Duke guard Luke Kennard, North Carolina guard Justin Jackson, Wake Forest forward John Collins and Notre Dame forward Bonzie Colson. Kennard was a unanimous selection, while Jackson was chosen as the ACC Player of the Year.


Mitchell leads the Cardinals in scoring (15.9 ppg), steals, three-point goals and minutes played (31.9 per game). His 76 three-pointers is tied for the ninth-most in a single season at Louisville. Since scoring 25 points against Indiana on New Year’s Eve, Mitchell has averaged 19.1 points, 4.2 rebounds, 3.1 assists and made 41.7 percent of his three point shots (55-of-132). His 18.1 scoring average in ACC games is the sixth-best in the league. He totaled 20 points, five rebounds and two steals in the Cardinals’ regular season finale against Notre Dame on Saturday, his ninth game this season with 20 or more points.


Georgia Tech forward Ben Lammers was selected as the ACC Defensive Player of the Year, NC State guard Dennis Smith was honored as the ACC Freshman of the Year, Virginia Tech guard Seth Allen was the ACC Sixth Man of the Year and Collins was recognized as the ACC Most Improved Player. Georgia Tech Coach Josh Pastner was recognized as the ACC Coach of the Year.


The complete list of All-ACC basketball honors is listed below.


2017 All-ACC Basketball Honors



First Team (name, school)

Luke Kennard, Duke

Justin Jackson, North Carolina

John Collins, Wake Forest

Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame

Donovan Mitchell, Louisville


Second Team

Dwayne Bacon, Florida State

Dennis Smith, NC State

Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech

Joel Berry II, North Carolina

London Perrantes, Virginia


Third Team

Michael Young, Pittsburgh

Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson

Andrew White, Syracuse

Davon Reed, Miami

Jayson Tatum, Duke


Honorable Mention

Kennedy Meeks, North Carolina

Matt Farrell, Notre Dame

Zach LeDay, Virginia Tech

Jerome Robinson, Boston College

Jonathan Isaac, Florida State

Seth Allen, Virginia Tech

Jamel Artis, Pittsburgh

V.J. Beachem, Notre Dame

Steve Vasturia, Notre Dame

Tyler Lydon, Syracuse


All-Defensive Team

Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech

Isaiah Wilkins, Virginia

Donovan Mitchell, Louisville

Davon Reed, Miami

Xavier Rathan-Mayes, Florida State

Matt Jones, Duke


All-Freshman Team

Dennis Smith, NC State

Jonathan Isaac, Florida State

Jayson Tatum, Duke

Josh Okogie, Georgia Tech

Ky Bowman, Boston College


ACC Player of the Year

Justin Jackson, North Carolina


ACC Freshman of the Year

Dennis Smith, NC State


ACC Coach of the Year

Josh Pastner, Georgia Tech


ACC Defensive Player of the Year

Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech


ACC Most Improved

John Collins, Wake Forest


ACC Sixth Man of the Year

Seth Allen, Virginia Tech

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.