McKay Wins the Dick Howser Award


Add another award for Louisville superstar Brendan McKay, as the junior takes home the Dick Howser Award.

The award, first given out in 1987, honors the best player in college baseball,voted on by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA). McKay adds this award after winning the John Olerud Award to become the first three-time winner, and was also selected fourth overall by Tampa Bay in Monday’s MLB Draft. Recent notable winners include Buster Posey (2008), Stephen Strasburg (2009) and Kris Bryant (2013).

McKay earns the award after a phenomenal 2017 season. The junior batted .343 at the plate with 17 home runs, and pitched his way to a 10-3 record with a 2.34 ERA and school-record 140 strikeouts this season. McKay also passed Kyle Funkhouser for the career strikeouts record at Louisville last weekend, solidifying his legacy as perhaps Louisville’s greatest baseball player. The Howser Award is the equivalent of College Football’s Heisman Trophy.

The junior is also awaiting one more award to add to his trophy case. The Golden Spikes Award will announce a winner on June 29th, with McKay as one of four finalists with Mississippi State’s Brent Rooker, North Carolina pitcher J.B. Bukauskas and Virginia’s two-way star Adam Haseley. Fans can vote for McKay at, where McKay currently trails Rooker in fan voting by almost 40%.

Meanwhile, the Cardinals are in preparations to start their fourth run at the College World Series. U of L (52-10) starts pool play against Texas A&M on Sunday at 2 p.m., facing the winner or loser of Florida/TCU.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.