Deng Adel Finds Himself On Yet Another Watch List For A Prestigious Award

Deng Adel has found himself on yet another preseason watch list for a prestigious individual award. The 6’7 Junior G/F is one of 50 players named to the Naismith Trophy preseason watch list.

trophy_smPhoto Courtesy of

The Naismith Trophy has been awarded annually since 1969 to the National College Player of the Year by the Atlanta Tipoff Club. Adel is seeking to become UofL’s first ever winner of the award.

Adel averaged 12.1 points, 4.5 rebounds, and 2.1 assists per game as a sophomore last year. This year, he is expected to be a focal point offensively so his stats should increase.

In UofL’s two exhibition wins this preseason, Adel averaged 16.5 points, 4.5 rebounds, and 2 assists. He will definitely be one of the primary scoring options for UofL.

Adel has already been named to the watch lists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy and the Julius Erving Award. The Oscar Robertson Trophy is given annually to the National College Player of the Year while the Julius Irving Award is given annually to college basketball’s Small Forward of the Year.

You can see the entire Naismith Trophy watch list by clicking on the link in the tweet below.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.