Another Preseason Watch List for Teddy Bridgewater

Press release from on Friday August 2

Teddy Bridgewater

Aug. 2, 2013

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – University of Louisville junior quarterback Teddy Bridgewater was selected on Friday to the Manning Award Watch List, which is sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

This year’s list of quarterbacks was selected in conjunction with the release of ESPN’s new Total Quarterback Rating (QBR); the top 30 returning quarterbacks according to the QBR make up the watch list. The winner will still be selected after the bowl games by a voting panel, which includes national media and each of the Mannings.

Bridgewater, last season’s BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year, guided the Cardinals to an 11-2 record, their second-straight BIG EAST title and a win over fourth-ranked Florida in the Sugar Bowl in which he was named the game’s Most Valuable Player.

The Miami, Fla., native headed a Louisville offense that was vastly improved last season, averaging 31.2 points per game and 418.8 yards of total offense per game. Starting 11 games, Bridgewater threw for 3,718 yards per game and 27 touchdowns to earn first team All-BIG EAST accolades.

Known for his accuracy, Bridgewater completed 68.5 percent of his throws and tossed a career-low eight interceptions. He recorded a new career high by passing for 424 yards in a loss to Syracuse and also registered 416 yards in a win over Cincinnati in overtime.

He is steadily approaching many of Louisville’s all-time records in only one full year as a starter. The 6-foot-3 signal caller sits first in completion percentage (66.5), third in passing efficiency (148.87), fifth in touchdowns (41), and sixth in passing yards (5,847).

This year’s watch list includes players from all 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences. The Mountain West leads the way with six honorees, while the Southeastern Conference has five quarterbacks on the list and the Pac-12 boasts four.

Including Friday’s announcement, Bridgewater has been named to three other award watch lists: Davey O’Brien Award (best college quarterback), Maxwell Award (college player of the year), and the Walter Camp Player of the Year.

Bridgewater and the Cardinals open the season on Sept. 1 in a 3:30 p.m. nationally televised kickoff versus Ohio on ESPN at Papa John’s Cardinal Stadium.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.