Women’s Basketball AAC Regular Season Awards Announced

Press release from TheAmerican.org

UNCASVILLE, Conn. – The American Athletic Conference announced its annual women’s basketball awards to cap the 2013-14 season and kick off the American Women’s Basketball Championship in Uncasville, Conn., March 7-10.

The All-Conference First Team spans student-athletes from six schools and is highlighted by five players who were unanimous first team selections: Stefanie Dolson (UConn), Bria Hartley (UConn), Breanna Stewart (UConn), Shoni Schimmel (Louisville) and Keena Mays (SMU).

1st team all conference

UConn senior Stefanie Dolson earned American Defensive Player of the Year honors while Louisville senior Asia Taylor was chosen as the American Most Improved Player of the Year. Dolson and Louisville redshirt senior Tia Gibbs shared American Sportsmanship Award accolades and Temple junior Rateska Brown was tabbed the American Sixth Player of the Year.

Dolson leads the Huskies and is second in the conference with 9.1 rebounds per contest. She pulled down 8.6 boards per game in conference play and blocked 71 shots this year (2.3 blocks per game), a season-best for the senior. She helped UConn tie the program single-season record with 261 rejections this season. The Huskies lead the nation with 8.4 blocks per game.

Taylor started every game for the Cardinals this season and averages 11.1 points and 7.3 rebounds per game, up from 5.6 points and 4.8 rebounds per game last year. She more than doubled her season totals in blocks and steals from a year ago and had the best game of her career, 25 points and 15 rebounds, this season versus Rutgers.

Dolson is leading the Huskies in other areas in addition to her defensive presence on the court. The senior was selected as one of 10 finalists nationwide for the Senior CLASS Award. She suffered two injuries late last season but overcame the obstacles and helped lead UConn to its eighth national championship. Gibbs returned to the court this year after sitting out the past two seasons with injuries. She worked tirelessly in rehab after suffering shoulder and hip injuries.  She is a team captain, scored a career-high 23 points at Oklahoma this season and will earn her MBA in the spring.

Brown averages 8.0 points, 2.3 rebounds and 1.3 assists per game for Temple. She has seen action in all 18 conference games this season and averages 19.2 minutes per game off the bench with no starts. The junior led the offensive charge for Temple five times this season and scored a team-high 13 points vs. UCF on Saturday. The win helped the Owls secure a first-round bye at the conference championship.

The awards were voted on by the league’s head coaches. The American Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Coach of the Year will be announced at a press conference on Friday, March 7 at Mohegan Sun Arena at 4 p.m. ET. The event will be streamed live at www.theamerican.org/dn.

American Defensive Player of the Year
Stefanie Dolson, UConn, Sr., C

American Most Improved Player of the Year
Asia Taylor, Louisville, R-Sr., F

American Sportsmanship Award
Stefanie Dolson, UConn, Sr., C
Tia Gibbs, Louisville, R-Sr., G

American Sixth Player of the Year
Rateska Brown, Temple, Jr., G

All-Conference First Team
*Stefanie Dolson, UConn, Sr., C
*Bria Hartley, UConn, Sr., G
Moriah Jefferson, UConn, So., G
*Breanna Stewart, UConn, So., F
Sara Hammond, Louisville, Jr., F
Asia Taylor, Louisville, R-Sr., F
*Shoni Schimmel, Louisville, Sr., G
Ariel Hearn, Memphis, So., G
Kahleah Copper, Rutgers, So., G
Courtney Williams, USF, So., G
*Keena Mays, SMU, Sr., G

All-Conference Second Team 
Jeanise Randolph, Cincinnati, Sr., F
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, UConn, Jr., F
Kiah Stokes, UConn, Jr., C
Bria Smith, Louisville, Jr., G
Betnijah Laney, Rutgers, Jr., G/F
Tyler Scaife, Rutgers, Fr., G
Alisia Jenkins, USF, So., F
Inga Orekhova, USF, Sr., G
Akil Simpson, SMU, Sr., F
Feyonda Fitzgerald, Temple, Fr., G
Natasha Thames, Temple, R-Sr., F

All-Freshman Team
*Zykira Lewis, UCF, Fr., G
Bianca Quisenberry, Cincinnati, Fr., G
Saniya Chong, UConn, Fr., G
Emmonnie Henderson, Louisville, Fr., F
Breigha Wilder-Cochran, Memphis, Fr., G
Mooriah Rowser, Memphis, R-Fr., G
*Tyler Scaife, Rutgers, Fr., G
Ariadna Pujol, USF, Fr., G
*Kiara Perry, SMU, Fr., G
*Feyonda Fitzgerald, Temple, Fr., G
Taylor Robinson, Temple, Fr., C

[*] denotes unanimous pick                   

Ties are not broken

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.