Cards Beat Vandy, Morissette Named To The Tewaaraton Award Women’s Watch List


(Press Release)

NASHVILLE, TENN. – The No. 13/17 Louisville lacrosse team cruised to a 15-5 win over Vanderbilt on Tuesday afternoon to improve to 4-0 on the season.  Junior Hannah Koloski led the Cardinals with a career-high six goals while seniors Kaylin Morissette and Cortnee Daley finished with four goals apiece.

“I am extremely proud of our effort today,” said head coach Kellie Young.  “Our defense shut down a dynamic offense and our offense stayed poised under solid pressure.  It was a phenomenal team performance on the draw.  Kay excelled and had great team support on the circle and behind the line.  Hannah Koloski had one of her best offensive performances of her career and Cortnee Daley was a true midfield, impacting every aspect of our performance.”


The Cardinals jumped out to an impressive 7-0 lead in the first 15 minutes of the game.  Daley scored two goals in the first minute of play.  Heidi Smith assisted on her first goal while Kelli Gerding assisted on the second goal.  Koloski scored the first of her six goals at the 24:49 mark on a free position shot, pushing the Cards’ lead to 3-0.

Smith scored on a free position shot 30 seconds later for a 4-0 lead.  Koloski scored at the 22:42 mark and then again at the 15:20 mark to push the Cards’ lead to 6-0.  Morissette scored less than a minute later to cap the 7-0 Louisville run.

Vanderbilt got on the board at the 8:19 mark with a goal from Mallory Schonk.  Morissette scored her second goal of the day at the 6:19 mark to put Louisville up 8-1 at the half.

Louisville finished the first half with a 17-6 shot advantage and a 10-0 advantage in draw controls.  Louisville goalkeeper Brittany Read finished with three saves while Vanderbilt’s Callahan Kent finished with one.

The Cardinals picked up where they left off in the second half with a goal from Morissette 45 seconds into the second half to push the Louisville lead to 9-1.  Five minutes later Vanderbilt found the back of the net, cutting the lead to 9-2.

Morissette scored at the 18:15 mark for a 10-2 lead but Vandy answered just minutes later, cutting the lead to 10-3.  Koloski found the back of the net at the 14:38 mark for an 11-3 lead but the Commodores answered a minute later with their fourth goal of the game.

Louisville answered with a 4-0 run to take a 15-4 lead with seven minutes remaining in the game.  Koloski scored off a free position shot then Daley scored two straight goals.  Koloski scored off a pass from Morissette to cap the scoring run.  Vanderbilt scored at the 4:19 mark for a 15-5 final score.

Louisville finished the game with a commanding 37-17 shot advantage and a 19-3 draw controls advantage.  Read finished with eight saves for Louisville while Vanderbilt finished with 12 saves.

The Cardinals will be back in action on Saturday, Feb. 27 as the host Boston College to open ACC play at the UofL Lacrosse Stadium at noon.

Morissette Named To The Tewaaraton Award Women’s Watch List

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2016 Tewaaraton Award women’s watch list.  Louisville senior midfielder Kaylin Morissette is one of 50 players named to the watch list for the second straight year.  The list includes the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2016 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour.

Morissette was recently selected as a preseason Lacrosse Magazine All-American and to the preseason All-ACC Team.  The senior leads the Cardinals in scoring so far this season with 11 goals and four assists for 15 points.  She also leads the team in draw controls with 46 so far this season.

Last season she was named a first team IWLCA All-American and a first team All-ACC selection.  As a junior she became the all-time draw controls leader with 418 and ranked second in the nation in draw controls in 2015 with 10.17 per game. She led the team with 62 points, scoring 44 goals and dishing out 18 assists. She registered seven hat tricks and led the team in assists during the 2015 campaign. She finished her first season in the ACC ranked in the top 11 of goals, goals per game, points and draw controls. She was also a first team Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Association All-West Region selection.

“The national reach of quality players is evident in this list, with players from all regions of the country, along with a strong group of six former winners and finalists,” said Jeff Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “As the season unfolds, we are excited for another deserving group of Tewaaraton Award candidates to emerge and we look forward to welcoming them to Washington, D.C. in early June.”

The Tewaaraton Award presented by Under Armour annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 17 and April 7. On April 28, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions. Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 12 and invited to the ceremony. The 16th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C., on June 2.

The 50 women’s watch list candidates, with school, year and position noted:

Madison Acton, Duke – Sr., Attack

Adrienne Anderson, Stanford – Sr., Defense

Liz Bannantine, Princeton – Sr., Defense

Erica Bodt, Syracuse – Sr., Midfield

Rachel Bowles, Albany – Sr., Midfield

Nina Corcoran, Penn – Sr., Attack

Kaleigh Craig, Northwestern – Sr., Attack

Maddie Crutchfield, Duke – Soph., Midfield

Taylor Cummings, Maryland – Sr., Midfield

Cian Dabrowski, Ohio State – Sr., Attack

Alex Dalton, Notre Dame – Jr., Midfield

Lucy Dikeo, Stanford – Sr., Midfield

Dene DiMartino, Hopkins – Sr., Midfield

Kelsey Duryea, Duke – Sr., Goalie

Erika Eipp, Massachusetts – Sr., Attack

Caroline Fitzgerald, Florida – Sr., Defense

Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame – Jr., Attack

Erica Geremia, LeMoyne – Sr., Attack

Jaci Gordon, James Madison – Sr., Midfield

Olivia Hompe, Princeton – Jr., Attack

Jackie Jahelka, Adelphi – Sr., Attack

Amanda Johansen, USC – Sr., Midfield

Kenzie Kent, Boston College – Soph., Midfield

Lauren Kwasnowski, Connecticut – Sr., Defense

Selena Lasota, Northwestern – Soph., Attack

Maddy Lesher, Loyola – Sr., Defense

Jaclyn Leto, Dartmouth – Sr., Midfield

Halle Majorana, Syracuse – Sr., Attack

Sarah Mannelly, Boston College – Sr., Midfield

Caroline Margolis, Boston College – Sr., Midfield

Marie McCool, North Carolina – Soph., Midfield

Alice Mercer, Maryland – Sr., Defense

Aly Messinger, North Carolina – Sr., Attack

Michaela Michael, USC – Jr., Attack

Tara Monaghan, SUNY Cortland – Sr., Midfield

Kay Morissette, Louisville – Sr., Midfield

Jenna Mosketti, Penn State – Sr., Attack

Sheila Nesselbush, Northwestern – Jr., Midfield

Kylie Ohmiller, Stony Brook – Soph., Attack

Claire Scarrone, Duke – Sr., Defense

Haley Schweizer, Johns Hopkins – Jr., Midfield

Emi Smith, Penn State – Sr., Goalie

Abby Smucker, Penn State – Jr., Midfield

Mollie Stevens, Florida – Sr., Midfield

Zoe Stukenburg, Maryland – Jr., Midfield

Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame – Grad., Defense

Kayla Treanor, Syracuse – Sr., Attack

Rachel Vander Kolk, Virginia – Soph., Goalie

Caylee Waters, North Carolina – Jr., Goalie

Megan Whittle, Maryland – Soph., Attack

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.