Trevon Young Named Winner Of Brian Piccolo Award

Trevon Young

Press release from the University of Louisville:

LOUISVILLE, Ky.  – University of Louisville defensive end/outside linebacker Trevon Young has been named the recipient of the Atlantic Coast Conference’s 2017 Brian Piccolo Award, ACC Commissioner John Swofford announced on Thursday.

The Piccolo Award has been given annually since 1970 in memory of the late Brian Piccolo to the “most courageous” football player in the ACC. As a standout running back at Wake Forest, Piccolo was the ACC Athlete of the Year in 1965 and played for the Chicago Bears before his career was cut short when he was stricken with cancer. His courageous fight against that disease was an inspiration to the Bears and the entire football community.

Young, the first recipient from Louisville,  will be recognized, along with quarterback Lamar Jackson, this weekend during activities surrounding the 2017 Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game, which is set for next Saturday evening at 8 p.m. at Charlotte’s Bank of America Stadium.

Young was an integral part of Louisville’s defensive scheme two seasons ago, when he recorded 8.5 sacks and earned honorable mention in All-ACC voting. The Des Moines, Iowa, native had 10 total tackles for loss with an interception and a pair of forced fumbles.

The 2015 season ended in the worst possible way, however, when Young suffered a fractured dislocation of his left hip in the Music City Bowl. He missed all of Louisville’s 2016 football season after undergoing two surgeries, including one to repair a torn labrum.

Young refused to remain on the sidelines, working his way back into playing condition and finally receiving clearance from his doctors to return to the practice field last June. The 6-4, 254-pound Young regained his spot in the Cardinals’ defensive rotation and returned to his familiar role of putting the heat on opposing quarterbacks. He closed the regular season ranking among the team leaders in total tackles (52), tackles for loss (nine), and quarterback hurries (eight).

Young becomes the first student-athlete from Louisville to claim the ACC’s Brian Piccolo Award.

ACC Brian Piccolo Award Winners

1970    Paul Miller, QB, North Carolina

1971    Jim Webster, LB, North Carolina

1972    Mark Johnson, QB, Duke

1973    Al Neville, QB, Maryland

1974    David Visaggio, DG, Maryland

1975    Scott Gardner, QB, Virginia

1976    Jeff Green, DE, Duke

1977    Ralph Stringer, DB, NC State

1978    Rex Varn, DB, Clemson

1979    not available

1980    Jack Cain, DB,Clemson

1981    Aaron Stewart, DB, Duke

1982    Kenny Duckett, WR, Wake Forest

1983     John Piedmonte, OLB,Wake Forest

1984    J.D. Maarleveld, T, Maryland

1985    Danny Burmeister, DB, N. Carolina

1986    Ray Williams, WR, Clemson

1987    no recipient

1988    Jerry Mays, TB, Georgia Tech

1989    Michael Anderson, RB, Maryland

1990    Marc Mays, WR, Duke

1991    Scott Adell, T, NC State

1992    Dan Footman, DE, Florida State

Randy Cuthbert, TB, Duke

1993    Scott Youmans, DL, Duke

1994    Chris Harrison, T, Virginia

1995    Warren Forney, DT, Clemson

1996    John Lewis, RB, Wake Forest

1997    Sam Cowart, LB, Florida State

1998    Anthony Poindexter, DB, Virginia

Corey Simon, DT, Florida State

1999    Chris Weinke, QB, Florida State

2000    Ed Wilder, FB, Georgia Tech

2001    Matt Crawford, T, Maryland

2002    Anquan Boldin, WR, Florida State

2003    Kevin Bailey, OL, Virginia

2004    Frank Gore, RB, Miami

2005    Ryan Best, S, Virginia

2006    Glenn Sharpe, Miami

2007    Matt Robinson, DE, Wake Forest

2008     Robert Quinn, DE, North Carolina

2009      Toney Baker, RB, NC State

2010      Mark Herzlich, LB, Boston College,

Nate Irving, LB, NC State

2011      Giovani Bernard, RB, North Carolina

2012      Shayon Green, DE, Miami

Chris Thompson, RB, Florida State

2013      Robert Godhigh, RB, Georgia Tech

2014      Duke Johnson, RB, Miami

2015      Hunter Knighton, OL, Miami

2016      James Conner, RB, Pitt

2017      Trevon Young, LB, Louisville

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.