Four UofL Football Members Given ACC Alll-Academic Honors

Cardinal Stadium 27 (1 of 1)

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Four members of the 2018 University of Louisville football team have been named to the Atlantic Coast Conference All-Academic squad, the league office announced Wednesday.

All four honorees were starters for the Cardinals last season.

Wide receiver Seth Dawkins and punter Mason King, who both earned accolades in 2017, are two-time selections, while linebacker C.J. Avery and cornerback Cornelius Sturghill were named for the first time in their careers.

Dawkins, a sports administration major, appeared in 10 games last year, closing the season with 25 receptions for 329 yards and one score. He caught a season high five passes for 49 yards and his lone touchdown versus Wake Forest.

A native of Louisville, Kentucky, King graduated last fall with a degree in communications. Finishing ninth in the ACC in punting, King averaged 40.6 yards per punt and placed 19 punts inside the opponents’ 20-yard line. He ranks in the top 10 on the school’s all-time list for career punts and yards.

A first-time starter, Avery earned academic accolades as a sports administration major. The Grenada, Mississippi, native was second on the team in tackles last with 56, including a career high 15 in a loss to Boston College.

Sturghill – a 2017 spring graduate – is in graduate school, working toward his MBA. A starter in 11 games, the Memphis, Tennessee, native finished the season with a career best 32 tackles and one interception.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

All 14 ACC Football member institutions were represented on the team. Duke led all schools with 12 selections, followed by Georgia Tech (8), Clemson (7), Pitt (6), Syracuse (6), Virginia (6), NC State (5), Boston College (4), Louisville (4), Wake Forest (4), Miami (3), Virginia Tech (2), Florida State (2), and North Carolina (1).

The ACC has selected an All-ACC Academic Football Team every year since 1954. The team was chosen from a pool of ACC football student-athletes who were nominated by their schools.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.