Cards Fans Can Help Evan Conley Earn Yet Another Weekly Award For His Wake Forest Performance

Evan Conley has received quite a few accolades for his Wake Forest performance. He was named ACC QB of the Week, ACC Rookie of the Week, and he was listed on the Davey O’Brien Award Great 8 QBs of the Week.

Now, he gets yet another honor as Conley has been named one of the Manning Award’s Stars of the Week. He is one of 8 QBs listed. However, fans get a chance to vote for the QB that will ultimately earn the Manning Award QB of the Week honors.

For all the details on how to vote and the nature of the accolade, check both the tweet and the UofL press release below.


Conley Named One of Eight Manning Award Stars of the Week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week

NEW ORLEANS –The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, selected University of Louisville quarterback Evan Conley as one of the eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.”

College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Jack Abraham, Southern Miss (29-of-36, 421 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 85.8)

Abraham records his third career 400-yard game to go with a season-high in touchdowns as he leads the Golden Eagles to a 45-27 C-USA win over North Texas.

Lynn Bowden, Jr., Kentucky (7-of-11, 78 yards, 1 TD, 0 INT, QBR: 95.7)

Bowden, who makes his first career start, rushes for 196 yards and two touchdowns, including the go-ahead 24-yard score with 6:53 remaining as the Wildcats defeat Arkansas, 24-20, in SEC action.

Joe Burrow, LSU (21-of-24, 293 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.1)

After LSU fell behind early in the second half, Burrow led the Tigers to three unanswered touchdowns and a total of 511 yards against one of the top defenses in the country in a 42-28 SEC victory over No. 7 and previously undefeated Florida.

Evan Conley, Louisville (12-of-18, 196 yards, 2 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 99.2)
Conley also rushes for 79 yards, including a 41-yard touchdown run, to lead the Cardinals to a wild 62-59 ACC victory over Wake Forest on the road.

Jayden Daniels, Arizona State (26-of-36, 363 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 75.3)

Daniels connects on 6-of-8 passes on the final drive, capping it with a 17-yard rushing score with 34 seconds left, as the Sun Devils come from behind for a 38-34 win over Washington State.

Patrick O’Brien, Colorado State (25-of-34, 420 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 83.7)

O’Brien tallies a career-high in passing yards and touchdowns as he helps the Rams snap a four-game losing streak with a 35-21 MW road win over New Mexico.

Jack Plummer, Purdue (33-of-41, 420 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 91.9)
Plummer registers career-bests in yards and touchdowns as he leads the Boilermakers to a 40-14 Big Ten win over Maryland.

Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (21-of-34, 293 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 91.8)

Tagovailoa, who tallies his fifth 4-TD game of the season, sets the Alabama record for career touchdown passes (81) as he leads the Crimson Tide to a 47-28 SEC road win over No. 24 Texas A&M.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Thursday, November 28 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 15 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) leads the way with five Manning Award honorees, while the Southeastern Conference (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) have four Manning Award winners each. Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) joins Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Sixty players from 59 different schools were honored during the 2018 season.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.