Louisville Football Announces 2020 Team Captains

Louisville Football is all set to kick off a strange 2020 season Saturday night. One of the final pieces of business is the announcement of team captains for 2020. Tonight, Louisville fans learned who those players are.

QB Micale Cunningham, WR Dez Fitzpatrick, LB CJ Avery, LB Dorian Etheridge, and TE/H-Back (and Louisville native) Marshon Ford were all chosen team captains. The captains were chosen by the coaches.

All four a very deserving of their newfound leadership roles. Each player has shown excellent leadership qualities on and off the field.

Avery and Etheridge will be expected to anchor the 2020 defense. Avery has been playmaking since he became a starter. He’s always been one of the best tacklers on the team, leading them in tackles last season. He’s dependable in coverage as well, making him all the more valuable. Etheridge has been a stalwart in the middle of the defense. He’s a run stuffer that may be the hardest hitter on the team. He has 14.5 career tackles for loss, including 8.5 last season. They both bring a wealth of talent and experience that they will have to bring to bear to help the defense improve as much as many expect.

Fitzpatrick is going to be the leader of the wide receiver corps. Many expect him to return to his redshirt freshman form when he tied a freshman record with 9 receiving TDs. That season, he seemed to be the go-to end zone target for a QB some might know by the name of Lamar Jackson. This led to some nicknaming him Dez Sixpatrick. There’s no doubt Fitzpatrick is a leader and will likely be a focal point of this year’s passing offense along with Tutu Atwell.

Cunningham emerged as the QB after an injury sidelined game 1 starter Jawon Pass last season. A true dual-threat, Cunningham grew into the starting role. He kept getting better and better until he ended the season beating Mississippi State in the Music City Bowl and being named the MVP of the game. Now, he steps into this season as the unquestioned starting QB and leader of the offense. There is no doubt he has proven himself more than capable of being a captain.

Marshon Ford is a son of the city and he became an indispensable weapon for the Cardinal offense. As a blocker, he was often found opening gaping holes on the edge and leading RB Javian Hawkins down the sidelines for big runs in his record breaking rushing season. As a receiver, Ford had 20 receptions for 292 yards. However, around a third of his receptions went for TDs as he had 7 of them. Ford is the player that contributes in a multitude of ways and it’s not surprising at all he was chosen.

All five players are key leaders. The effort they give, the fight they show on the field, and the things they do off of it are why CJ Avery, Dorian Etheridge, Dez Fitzpatrick, Micale Cunningham, and Marshon Ford are your 2020 Louisville Football team captains. What they are doing under these unique circumstances is true strength and leadership. They all deserve the honor and the recognition of the fans.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.