Darrell Griffith to be honored as ACC Legend

Darrell Griffith
Photo: bleacherreport.com

Let’s get this out of the way early. Darrell Griffith never played in the ACC. It’s fine. He can still be considered a legend of the conference. Just accept it. And that is what will happen. Griff is one of 14 players and one coach that will be honored during this year’s ACC Tournament. The full class is listed below, along with a quick summary of Griffith’s resume.

The 2016 ACC Legends Class:
Jim Hooley, Forward, Boston College
Grayson Marshall, Guard, Clemson
Jason Willams, Guard, Duke
Rowland Garrett, Forward, Florida State
BJ Elder, Guard, Georgia Tech
Darrell Griffith, Guard, Louisville
John Salmons, Forward, Miami
James Worthy, Forward, North Carolina
Anthony “Spud” Webb, Guard, NC State
Adrian Dantley, Forward, Notre Dame
Charles Smith, Forward, Pitt
Derrick Coleman, Forward, Syracuse
Norman Nolan, Forward, Virginia
Howard Pardue, Forward, Virginia Tech
Dave Odom, Head Coach, Wake Forest

Darrell Griffith, Louisville (1976-80) – Griffith capped his sensational collegiate career by leading the Cardinals to a 33-3 record and the 1980 NCAA title. He received the prestigious John Wooden Award as College Basketball’s Player of the Year, was voted the Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four, and completed his senior season as the first Louisville player to score more than 2,000 career points. He scored in double figures in his final 41 college games and in 111 of the 126 contests he played with the Cardinals, including 23 points in a win over UCLA in the 1980 NCAA championship game. The Louisville teams on which he played posted a combined record of 101-25 and made four straight NCAA Tournament appearances. His road uniform from the 1980 season is on permanent display at the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. Following his collegiate career, he played 11 seasons in the NBA with the Utah Jazz, earning Rookie of the Year honors in 1981 and averaging 16.2 points for his career. He is now back at his alma mater, where he works as a special assistant to the president at the University of Louisville.

To read up on all of the other inductees, check out the full release. 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.