ACC Rookie Of The Year Race Heats Up On Saturday

Dez Fitzpatrick

There is about a month of football left to be played and the race for ACC rookie of the year is heating up. The Atlantic Coast Conference Rookie of the Year, as voted on by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA), will be awarded prior to the ACC championship game on December 2nd in Charlotte, NC.

Florida State redshirt freshman quarterback Deondre Francois won the award in 2016.

This year it appears the top 3 candidates are Dez Fitzpatrick (WR -Louisville), Josh Jackson (QB –  V-Tech) and Greg Dortch ( WR – Wake Forest).

Fitzpatrick has 34 receptions for 554 yards and 7 touchdowns this year. Fitzpatrick leads all ACC receivers in touchdowns and ranks 6th in yards.

Dortch has 43 receptions for 555 yards and 5 touchdowns this season. Dortch ranks 3rd in touchdowns and ranks 5th in receiving yards among all ACC receivers.

Jackson has thrown for 1832 yards and 16 touchdowns and ran for 1 more score. Jackson ranks 4th in passing yard among all ACC quarterbacks and has led Virginia Tech to a 6-1 record overall and 2-1 in ACC play.

On Saturday, Dortch and Fitzpatrick square off as Louisville travels to Wake for a 12:20 kickoff. Jackson is at home to face Duke for a 7:20 kickoff.


About Jeff Nunn

Born and raised in Louisville. THS, U of L and Sig Ep for life. I appreciate everyday that I wake up. My 2 boys are my greatest accomplishment in life.

Posted on October 28, 2017, in Louisville Athletics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: